Jim Baen Memorial Short Story Award Top Ten Finalists Announced

Positive Futures Explored in Annual Short Story Contest

Baen Books has announced the top ten finalists for the 2019 Jim Baen Memorial Short Story Award, a contest held each year for all levels of experience. The Grand Prize will be presented at the 2019 International Space Development Conference in Arlington, VA the weekend of June 6-9.

"The goal of this contest is to encourage writers to create exciting and positive stories about humankind's near future in space," said William Ledbetter, contest administrator. "The stories all take place within the next fifty or sixty years and show the challenges and wonders that await us as we explore and colonize the solar system. Our winners can be novices or professionals; we just care about a well told story."

For those interested in reading sixteen of the best stories from the first ten years of this contest, "The Jim Baen Memorial Award: The First Decade" anthology is available through Baen Books and at book stores everywhere.

The contest is judged by top Baen editors, who read the entries "blind" with no author information included, so the winners are picked solely by merit of the stories. Over the years, the contest has developed an international character. In addition to the United States, entrants have hailed from Argentina, the Czech Republic, Sweden, the United Kingdom, Australia, Iraq, Canada, France, Algeria, Switzerland, India, Kazakhstan, New Zealand, Finland, Thailand, Spain, and Morocco.

This year's top ten Jim Baen Memorial Award finalists (in alphabetical order) are:

Gustavo Bondoni - Argentina
C. Stuart Hardwick - Texas, USA
Harry Lang - Pennsylvania, USA
Jeffrey Lyman - New Jersey, USA
Matt McHugh - New Jersey, USA
Wendy Nikel- Utah, USA
M. T. Reiten - New Mexico, USA
Tiffany Smith - Texas, USA
Benjamin Tyler Smith - Pennsylvania, USA
Marie Vibbert - Ohio, USA

For more information, email info@baen.com, or call 1-800-488-2236

* * * * * *