Please login or sign up for a new account.

I forgot my password

Password Reset

Contests & Awards

June Contest

Con Man (or Woman)

The new short story anthology Give Me LibertyCon, celebrates one of science fiction and fantasy’s unique conventions as well as its founder, Tim Bolgeo. Many have fond memories of attending their first LibertyCon—and some of them wrote stories for the book! Now, we’d like to hear your memories. Tell us about the first (or a favorite) con you attended, whether it be LibertyCon or otherwise, in a short paragraph (100 words or fewer) to win a copy of Give Me LibertyCon, signed by the editors.

Send your entry in the body of an email to contest@baen.com by June 20!

Put “June Contest” in the subject field and please remember to include your name! Limit one entry per person, please. Winner will be selected by the Baen editorial staff. Winning entry may be published as part of announcement.

Baen Fantasy Adventure Award

Baen Books is excited to announce the sixth annual Baen Fantasy Adventure Award. The award recognizes the best original adventure fantasy short story in the style of fantasy greats like Larry Correia, Mercedes Lackey, Elizabeth Moon, Andre Norton, J.R.R. Tolkien, and David Weber.

Jim Baen Memorial Short Story Award

Since its early days, science fiction has played a unique role in human civilization. It removes the limits of what "is" and shows us a boundless vista of what "might be." Its fearless heroes, spectacular technologies and wondrous futures have inspired many people to make science, technology and space flight a real part of their lives and in doing so, have often transformed these fictions into reality. The National Space Society and Baen Books applaud the role that science fiction plays in advancing real science and have teamed up to sponsor this short fiction contest in memory of Jim Baen.

The Year's Best Military and Adventure Science Fiction

Other anthologies tell you which stories were the year’s best—we’re letting you decide which of these you liked best. Baen Books is pleased to announce the third annual Year's Best Military and Adventure SF Readers’ Choice Award. The award honors the best of the best in this grand storytelling tradition, and its winner will receive an inscribed plaque and a $500 prize. Reward your favorite story, and its author, for excellence!