Baen Books Announces the Finalists
for the 2020 Baen Fantasy Adventure Award

Riverdale, New York, July 1, 2020—Baen Books announces the top ten finalists for the 2020 Baen Fantasy Adventure Award for best original fantasy short story. They are:

“A Hole in the Gut” by M. T. Kadisin
“From Darkest Depths” by Sean CW Korsgaard
“Gently They Took What Was Hers” by Amanda J. Lee
“Hero” by L.R. Braden
“Humanslayer” by Scott Huggins
“Seidh” by Morgan Welch
“The Chilling Account of The Wolf-Bann of Krallenburg” by J. E. Tabor
“The Power” by Stephen Lawson
“The Strength of Summer Storms” by Evey Brett
“Who Will Know?” by Scott R. Parkin

Started in 2014, this is the seventh annual Baen Fantasy Adventure Award. This award honors stories that best exemplify the spirit of adventure, imagination, and great storytelling in a work of short fiction containing an element of the fantastic, whether epic fantasy, heroic fantasy, sword and sorcery, contemporary fantasy, or historical fantasy. The stories are judged anonymously.

The Grand Prize and Second and Third Place Winners will come from among these ten finalists.

Due to the cancellation of NASFIC 2020 convention and the ongoing uncertainty caused by the COVID-19 virus, Baen will be announcing our Top Three winners at the beginning of the Baen Virtual Roadshow in early August, broadcast live on Baen’s Facebook page.

Author of the Grand Prize story receives an award trophy, a prize box filled with Baen merchandise, and paid professional rates for first publication rights. The winning story will be featured on main webpage from August 15th through September 15th, 2020, and will be available in the Baen Free Library thereafter.

For more information email or call 1-800-488-2236.

* * * * * *