1637: The Coast of Chaos - eARC

Advance Reader Copy

THE NEW WORLD FALLS INTO THE RING OF FIRE. All new stories set in the Ring of Fire series, edited by New York Times best-selling series creator Eric Flint.

Europe, 1632. It is a time of upheaval and great change. But none so great as when an unexplained temporal and spatial phenomenon known as the Ring of Fire transports the blue collar town of Grantville, West Virginia, smack dab in the middle of the Thirty Years War. When the dust settles, it becomes clear that the town of Grantville isn't going anywhere, and the can-do Americans of the twenty-first century begin altering the course of history forever.

It is now five years later, and the effects of the Ring of Fire reach from the Old World to the New. But the course of exploration and colonization will look much different than it did in our timeline. The French bought the English possessions in North America way back in 1633, but have never done much with the uncivilized backwater. Until the new king of France, Gaston I, decides that it's time to seize the territory and establish French control over it.

Here then, a new anthology, edited by Ring of Fire series creator Eric Flint, chronicling the exploits of the citizens of Grantville, their allies, and their enemies, as they venture forth onto a new continent.

This short novel plus 7 bonus stories in the Ring of Fire!

Cover Art by Tom Kidd

ORDER Hardcover

This is a work of fiction. All the characters and events portrayed in this book are fictional, and any resemblance to real people or incidents is purely coincidental.

Look for the final version on December 7, 2021

Distributed by Simon & Schuster
1230 Avenue of the Americas
New York, NY 10020

Printed in the United States of America

ISBN-13: 978-1-9821-2577-6

Copyright © 2021 by Eric Flint and Bjorn Hasseler

Additional copyright information: “Preface” © 2021 by Eric Flint; “The Coast of Chaos” © 2021 by Eric Flint, Gorg Huff, and Paula Goodlett; “The Brothers” © 2021 by Walter H. Hunt; “The People of the Sky” © 2021 by Eric S. Brown and Robert E. Waters; “Remember Plymouth” © 2021 by Bjorn Hasseler; “I Will Walk This Path Again” © 2021 by John Deakins; “The First Conductor” © 2021 by Michael Lockwood; “Confederation” © 2021 by Bjorn Hasseler; “A Wide Latitude” © 2021 by Eric Flint.

All rights reserved, including the right to reproduce this book or portions thereof in any form.

A Baen Books Original
Baen Publishing Enterprises
P.O. Box 1403
Riverdale, NY 10471

Electronic version by Baen Books