Freehold: Resistance

NEW STORIES IN THE BEST-SELLING FREEHOLD SERIES, CREATED BY MICHAEL Z. WILLIAMSON. Featuring all-new stories by Larry Correia, Michael Z. Williamson, Brad R. Torgersen, Mike Massa, Kacey Ezell, and more!

When the UN invaded the Freehold of Grainne, the intent was simple: Force a noncompliant star nation back into the collective.

What the politicians hadn't accounted for was that the Freehold had spent 200 years as the haven for every independent, rebellious, self-reliant adventurer in human space.

Its military are scattered remnants, its bases smoking ruins, its cities occupied. But Grainne and its space habitats have resources beyond measure. Retired intelligence agents, disabled veterans, animal handlers, petty smugglers, half-lame computer specialists, research scientists, planetary engineers, all have one goal in mind: Make the invaders suffer for their presumption.

This isn't just resistance. It's vengeance.

Stories by:
Larry Correia
Michael Z. Williamson
Brad R. Torgersen
Mike Massa
Kacey Ezell
Robert E. Hampson
Aaron Haskins
John F. Holmes
Marisa Wolf
Justin Watson
Jason Cordova
Jamie Ibson
Jessica Schlenker
Christopher Dinote
Rob Reed
Chris Smith
Jaime DiNote
Philip Wohlrab

Cover Art by Kurt Miller

ORDER Paperback

This is a work of fiction. All the characters and events portrayed in this book are fictional, and any resemblance to real people or incidents is purely coincidental.

First printing, December 2019

Distributed by Simon & Schuster
1230 Avenue of the Americas
New York, NY 10020

Printed in the United States of America

ISBN-13: 978-1-9821-2423-6
eISBN: 978-1-62579-747-6

Copyright © 2019 by Michael Z. Williamson

“Prologue: Invasion,” © 2019 by Michael Z. Williamson. “Spider’s Web,” © 2019 by Jessica Schlenker. “Force Majeure,” © 2019 by Michael Z. Williamson. “Excerpts from General Jacob Huff’s Journal,” © 2019 by Christopher DiNote and Jaime DiNote. “A Time to Fight,” © 2019 by J.F. Holmes. “The Danegeld,” © 2019 by Marisa Wolf. “The Prayer Wheel,” © 2019 by Jason Cordova. “Star Crossed,” © 2019 by Kacey Ezell and Robert E. Hampson. “Dear Diary,” © 2019 by Rob Reed. “Proxy War,” © 2019 by Larry Correia. “Soft Casualty,” © 2014 by Michael Z. Williamson, first appearance (May 2014). “FNG,” © 2019 by Kacey Ezell. “Codger Command,” © 2019 by Mike Massa. “Buffalo Fifteen,” © 2019 by Brad R. Torgersen. “Starhome,” © 2016 by Michael Z. Williamson, first appearance (July 2016). “Survival,” © 2019 by Justin Watson. “Is That A Fire?” © 2019 by Philip Wohlrab. “What It’s Worth,” © 2019 by Christopher L. Smith and A.C. Haskins. “Cry Havoc,” © 2019 by Jamie Ibson. “Epilogue: Post Action Review,” © 2019 by Michael Z. Williamson.

All rights reserved, including the right to reproduce this book or portions thereof in any form.

A Baen Books Original
Baen Publishing Enterprises
P.O. Box 1403
Riverdale, NY 10471

Electronic version by Baen Books