The Thief of Cragsport

Book Two in The Mask Cycle

Thief and swordsmaster Sonata Diamante is now Sacudente do Mundo, the World-Shaker, with god-like powers she can’t control. Perhaps her wizard uncle, Borshen Galo, can help. But he’s missing, and the streets of Cragsport have changed. Martial law has been declared, but Sonata refuses to keep the peace. She wants answers, and her quest brings her into contact with Duke Ernesto and his Night Watch.

The duke hires Sonata as the security lead for a delegation heading north. He wishes to forge an alliance with the island kingdom of Corodana so that Cragsport can survive a war with its rivals Agadano and Pontaboro. Sonata finds her uncle in Corodana, but his answers to her questions are not helpful. Soon, the attempts of assassins and fantasma wizards on the life of the Corodana king force her to use her powers in ways that make it clear: Sonata is no longer human.

She returns to Craigsport, but her growing number of enemies threaten her life. To survive, she calls upon her newly-discovered father, Taigo Guerra do Dorecao, but he and the powers he represents have their own plans for the world of Mirada. War has begun, and Sonata may be the only person standing between the city she loves and the gods that would see it fall.

Cover Art by Laura Givens

This is a work of fiction. All the characters and events portrayed in this book are fictional, and any resemblance to real people or incidents is purely coincidental.

eISBN: 978-1-948818-75-9

Copyright © 2020 by Robert E. Waters

All rights reserved, including the right to reproduce this book or portions thereof in any form.

A Ring of Fire Press Original
East Chicago, IN

Electronic version by Baen Books