The Collected Short Stories and Novellas of Ian R. MacLeod, Volume 1

“MacLeod is a brilliant writer.” —Tim Powers

“Ian MacLeod writes like an angel. He strings together ideally chosen words into sentences that are variously lush, sparse, subtle, bold, joyous, mournful, comic and tragic.” —Paul Di Filippo

Welcome to the first half of the collected worlds of one of fiction’s great myth-makers. Blending naturalistic settings with real—and unreal—histories, dark presents, strange pasts and star-flung futures, Ian R. MacLeod’s multi award-winning stories defy easy classification, but are always vividly elegant, compelling, and filled with wonder.

In "Grownups", a young boy discovers the strange facts of life in a very different—yet also alarmingly recognizable—world, whilst "New Light on the Drake Equation" focusses on one man’s quest to prove there is still a chance of intelligent life existing beyond Earth, and in "Ephemera" a very strange librarian has final charge of all the world’s knowledge and culture, and "The Master Miller’s Tale" tells of obsessive love as a bucolic past dissolves into the magics of industry, iron and steam.

Nothing in MacLeod’s visions is ever quite what it seems, yet they remain deeply real and involving. If you haven’t read MacLeod before, you can expect to be moved and surprised. If you have, then you need no further introduction other than to say that Everywhere—and its companion volume Nowhere, which features many of his best shorter stories—represent a generous and wide-ranging summary of his work, along with many insights into the creative process which are provided by the fresh introductions and afterwords.

Cover Art: Dirk Berger

This is a work of fiction. All the characters and events portrayed in this book are fictional, and any resemblance to real people or incidents is purely coincidental.

“Grownups” first published in Asimov's Science Fiction, June 1992
“Breathmoss” first published in Asimov's Science Fiction, May 2002
“New Light on the Drake Equation” first published online in e-zine Scifiction, May 2001
“The Master Miller's Tale” first published in The Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction, May 2007
“Papa” first published in Asimov's Science Fiction, October 1993
“Frost on Glass” first published as the title story in the collection Frost on Glass by Ian R. MacLeod, PS Publishing, 2015
“Ephemera” first published in Asimov's Science Fiction, July/August 2018
Published as an eBook in 2019 by JABberwocky Literary Agency, Inc., in association with the Zeno Agency LTD.

Distributed by JABberwocky Literary Agency, Inc.
49 W 45th St., #12N
New York, NY 10036-4603

eISBN: 978-1-62567-441-8

This collection copyright © 2019 by Ian R. MacLeod

All rights reserved, including the right to reproduce this book or portions thereof in any form.

Electronic version by Baen Books