Wisdom of the Fox


All Gerin the Fox ever wanted to do was go down to the City of Elabon and study. Life made other plans. When the barbarous Trokmoi killed his father and older brother, he became Baron of Fox Keep, warring against not only the Trokmoi and their fearsome evil wizard but also against the Empire of Elabon, which was happier collecting tribute than giving anything back for it—such as soldiers or chariots.

Then all four moons went full at once, and Gerin's life got really complicated.

And after that, there were such small details as his son getting kidnapped, earthquakes, bad omens, a threatened war with his neighbors, and an even more threatening eruption of monsters from deep underground. Gerin kept trying to hang on to such civilization as was left in his own little corner of the world. Everything would have been a lot simpler if most of his neighbors—and an irate god or two—hadn't wanted to do him in.

Publisher's Note: Wisdom of the Fox was previously published in parts as Werenight and Prince of the North, and has been revised for this first unitary edition.

"Fast-moving and exciting...." —Kliatt

"... the best and most realistic in fantasy fiction . . . a series to watch." —

Cover Art by Bob Eggleton
Map by Eleanor Kostyk

ORDER Paperback

This is a work of fiction. All the characters and events portrayed in this book are fictional, and any resemblance to real people or incidents is purely coincidental.

First printing, November 1999

Distributed by Simon & Schuster
1230 Avenue of the Americas
New York, NY 10020

Typeset by Stacksgraph, Newberg, OR
Printed in the United States of America

ISBN-13: 978-0-671-57838-1
ISBN-10: 0-671-57838-3

This book was previously published in parts as Werenight copyright © 1994 and Prince of the North copyright © 1994 by.

All rights reserved, including the right to reproduce this book or portions thereof in any form.

A Baen Books Original
Baen publishing Enterprises
P.O. Box 1403
Riverdale, NY 10471

Electronic version by Baen Books

BAEN BOOKS by Harry Turtledove

The Fox novels:

Wisdom of the Fox
King of the North
Fox and Empire

The Case of the Toxic Spell Dump
Down in the Bottomlands
Alternate Generals (editor)