The Warmasters

The Warmasters

Three Masters of Military Science Fiction
Three Great Science Fiction Series:

Honor Harrinqton
Hammer's Slammers

Three Short Novels in One Volume

Before she saved the galaxy, she was "Ms. Midshipwoman Harrington"— New York Times bestselling author David Weber reveals how Honor Harrington's long and brilliant career began with an encounter with "pirates" who turned out to be much more than they seemed....

Another day, another planet at war. But in David Drake's "Choosing Sides," Lieutenant Huber stepped off the starship right into an ambush. The attackers didn't survive, but neither did far too many of Huber's troops—and Slammers aren't supposed to get caught in ambushes. Now, to redeem himself, Huber is being sent on a special mission that may be his last. But even so, the enemy will learn the cost of killing even a single one of Colonel Hammer's Slammers. . . .

If the enemy thought General Belisarius was tough, wait until they meet the wife of one of his soldiers in Eric Flint's "Island." She was wed just before her husband left with Belisarius to fight an evil from beyond time. Now her husband is wounded, and she is going to travel a thousand miles to reach his side—and few who get in her way will live to regret it. ...



David Weber is the science fiction phenomenon of the decade. His Honor Harrington novels (The New York Times bestseller Ashes of Victory being the ninth and latest) can't come out fast enough for his devoted readers. With Steve White, he has co-authored a top-selling series of space adventures set in the Starfire game universe, The Shiva Option being the latest. Weber's science fiction novels, all for Baen, include Mutineers' Moon, The Armageddon Inheritance, Heirs of Empire, and Path of the Fury—and of course the entire Honor Harrington series. He has also begun an epic fantasy series with Oath of Swords and its sequel, The War God's Own. He is married and lives in South Carolina.

Vietnam veteran, former lawyer, and now famous author of the bestselling Hammer's Slammers novels and many more blockbuster novels, David Drake tells a military story like no other. His thousands of readers know that he can take them where no one else can, with gut-wrenching description that puts them in the midst of battlefield action and face-to-face with the enemy. Drake graduated Phi Beta Kappa from the University of Iowa, majoring in history (with honors) and Latin. His stint at Duke University Law School was interrupted for two years by the U.S. Army, where he served as an enlisted interrogator with the llth Armored Cavalry in Vietnam and Cambodia. Drake has a wife, a son, and various pets.

Eric Flint is a gifted new star of military and alternate history SE His first novel for Baen, Mother of Demons, was picked by Science Fiction Chronicle as a best novel of the year. His alternate history novel, 1632, sold out its first printing almost immediately and received lavish critical praise. With David Drake he has collaborated on five novels in the acclaimed "Belisarius" series. His latest novel for Baen is the fantasy adventure The Philosophical Strangles A longtime labor union activist with a degree (Phi Beta Kappa) in African history, he currently resides in northwest Indiana with his wife Lucille.

Illustration by Gary Ruddell
Cover design by Carol Russo Design

ORDER Hardcover

This is a work of fiction. All the characters and events portrayed in this book are fictional, and any resemblance to real people or incidents is purely coincidental.

First printing, May 2002

Distributed by Simon & Schuster
1230 Avenue of the Americas
New York, NY 10020

Printed in the United States of America

ISBN: 0-7434-3534-6

Copyright © 2002 by Bill Fawcett & Associates.
"Ms. Midshipwoman Harrington"
copyright © 2001 by David Weber.
"Islands" copyright © 2002 by Eric Flint.
"Choosing Sides" copyright © by David Drake.

All rights reserved, including the right to reproduce this book or portions thereof in any form.

A Baen Books Original
Baen Publishing Enterprises
P.O. Box 1403
Riverdale, NY 10471

Production by Windhaven Press
Auburn, NH

Electronic version by WebWrights


The Hammer Slammers series by David Drake
The Tank Lords
Caught in the Crossfire
The Butcher's Bill
The Sharp End
Paying the Piper (forthcoming)

The Belisarius series by Eric Flint & David Drake
An Oblique Approach
In the Heart of Darkness
Destiny's Shield
Fortune's Stroke
The Tide of Victory

The Honor Harrington series by David Weber
On Basilisk Station
The Honor of the Queen
The Short Victorious War
Field of Dishonor
Flag in Exile
Honor Among Enemies
In Enemy Hands
Echoes of Honor
Ashes of Victory
War of Honor (forthcoming)
edited by David Weber:
More Than Honor
Worlds of Honor
Changer of Worlds